Camphouse Ballads

**Sound clips to be added soon!

  1. The Coal Quay Market & Jackie Daly's Slide
  2. The Man of Constant Sorrow (Christy Twomey, lead vocals)
  3. When I Was A Batchelor & John Stenson's Reel
  4. The Bantry Girls' Lament
  5. The Meet Was At Mathews
  6. I Know My Love
  7. The Groves Of Blackpool
  8. Reels: Master Crowley's, Willie Reynolds, Seamus Creagh's & Toss The Feathers
  9. The Star Of Sunday's Well
  10. Do You Want Your Old Lobby Washed Down Con Shine? (Mick Murphy, lead vocals)


" Little need by said about this second album from Jimmy and his friends:it is as lively, refreshing and fruity as a bottle of Beaujolais Primeur—one of the most highly reccommended albums of the year. " Tomás Mac Ruaidhrí, Irish Press

" Well, it’s real Cork! " Fo’c’s’le,Folk Music Magazine of Western Australia

" Camphouse Ballads takes its name from an old camphouse near the Irish army base at Kilworth outside Fermoy in the county Cork .It has, what Crowley calls, ’a great smell of the fifties’ about it. Like its predecessor, the album contains a share of songs hankering after the old days. It has a strong Cork flavour including the mysterous Con Shine.It is spiced with Northern and even American traditional songs.Stokers Lodge on the record consist of Chris Twomey on autoharp and concertina, Eoghan Ó Riabhaigh on pipes and whistles, Johnny Murphy on harmonium and guitar and Mick Murphy on mandolin,guitar and vocals. " Brian O’ Connor, the Irish Press

" This album marks a change from its predecessor in that it is much more of a group effort and all the more succesful for that .Stokers are a damn fine band and its gratifying to hear them work to great effect on this massive album which I hope sells in vast quantities. " Oliver P. Sweeney, Hot Press

" The track that must haunt Jimmy still was an almost throw-away music-hall song he picked up from John O’ Shea (The Singing Fireman) in Cork, Do You Want Your Old Lobby Washed Down,Con Shine? A journeyman on the showband circuit, Brendan Shine, picked up on the number and had a huge hit single with it. " Colin Irwin, Folk Roots, June 1986

Close this window

© Free State Records, 2001-2007.